Top Banner

The Lodge Apollo No. 3437

Consecrated 2nd April 1910

Meeting at: Johannesburg - Freemasons Hall, 8 Park Lane, Parktown

Meeting Dates: 4th Tuesday (ex Apr, June, Aug, Dec) Inst Mar

Contact 082 452 0720

Lodge History

The Lodge Apollo was the last lodge to be consecrated in the Transvaal before that province became part of the Union of South Africa on I July 1910. 'Lodge' proceeded 'Apollo' in the name to distinguish the Lodge from many others called Apollo.

The Lodge was established largely for educationists but the scope of recruitment was gradually widened and over the years came to include members of distinction inside and outside Freemasonry. Of the former, pride of place must be accorded to Bro Vernon Fairbrass, who became District Grand Master in 1942. Of the latter, Professor R A Dart, world famed as an anthropologist, went through the chair of Apollo in 1934/5, and in a different sphere, the W M for 1944/5 was Alec Mcphail, the founder of what was to become the largest coal distribution business in South Africa and the subject of the slogan: 'Mac won't fail you'. The Witwatersrand Technical College was a substantial source of members, including John Off 0 B E (WM 1918/9) and Joe Ettershank (WM 195 1/2) whose gravelly whispers,. in the E, could be distinctly heard in the W. Tom Downing (WM 1961/2) achieved Grand rank and was Third District Grand Principal in the Royal Arch from 1975 to 1976.

Altogether six members of Apollo have attained Grand rank, a sure indication that the lodge has played an active and worthy part in Transvaal Freemasonry.

The lodge meeting places have changed in parallel with movements of the District headquarters.

Reference: 'A Century of Brotherhood' by A A Cooper & D E G Vieler